A Community discussion forum for Halo Custom Edition, Halo 2 Vista, Portal and Halo Machinima

Home  Search Register  Login Member ListRecent Posts

»Forums Index »Machinima Forum »General Machinima Discussions »Some Machinima Questions (capture card advice and how to do things)

Author Topic: Some Machinima Questions (capture card advice and how to do things) (3 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: Dennis

Rhydgaled Publications

I have many questions (can't fit URL in though)

Posted: Jun 19, 2008 10:18 AM    Msg. 1 of 3       
I am planning to make a Machinima/CGI film using a combination of HALO 2 (XBOX), HALO: Custom Edition and 3ds max 5 (and possibly later swaping HALO 2 for HALO 3, I'm only planning on using HALO 2 at all because it has Bloodgultch and HALO 3 doesn't) (yes, I know Bloodgultch is actually called Coagulation in HALO 2 and is slightly different but to me there are both Bloodgultch). I have some experience in 3ds Max and HALO: Custom Edition and intend to use these for things I can't do on the XBOX or 360. (Complicate character animations like weapon switching (3ds max) and pelican drops (Custom Edition and maybe 3ds max)). I also have some video Editing Software and experience with using them (I have made two films using real footage filmed on a camcorder).

Anyway, enough explaining what I'm doing, on to my questions.

Firstly I cannot really capture from the consoles right now, so I would like some advice on a video capture device (I tried a Dazzle USB device as that's what I've seen recomended before but as I have already experienced with Pinicale Studio video editing software their products are very unreliable, I couldn't make the Dazzle work so I returned it.).