A Community discussion forum for Halo Custom Edition, Halo 2 Vista, Portal and Halo Machinima

Home  Search Register  Login Member ListRecent Posts

»Forums Index »Halo Custom Edition (Bungie/Gearbox) »Halo CE General Discussion »Halo Custom edition in Ubuntu using WINE?

Author Topic: Halo Custom edition in Ubuntu using WINE? (4 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: Dennis

iPodStroker

Posted: Oct 9, 2010 04:52 AM    Msg. 1 of 4       
Hi,
I have just installed my copy of halo CE on my Ubuntu (10.04) PC,
I am completely new to Custom edition and need help on changing
the default save file location from 'My Documents' to a different location
of my system (don't really mind where). The trason for needing t change
this, is, when using WINE, it supplies you with the fundamentals of
windows, just not users; so as a result, there is no 'My Documents' folder
at all. I have tried running a Virtual machine (using virtualbox) to run the game,
but I just get a message saying that the VM had no 3D acceleration (even though
I had it enabled in the settings) and telling me to run 'DXDIAG', upon doing this,
I am tol that I cannot use 3D acceleration at all, so that throws that out of the window...
I would really appreciate any help from this community, I tried searching for similar posts, but the only one I found was locked due to piracy suspicions... I would really love to get this game running soon.

Thanks.

pwner5889

Posted: Oct 9, 2010 12:55 PM    Msg. 2 of 4       
Use VMware player, you'll be fine. There is a guide on how to do it though. How to install it in WINE. Go search "Halo CE ubuntu wine"

Dwood

Judge Ye Therefore

Posted: Oct 10, 2010 03:40 AM    Msg. 3 of 4       

iPodStroker

Posted: Oct 16, 2010 09:37 PM    Msg. 4 of 4