A Community discussion forum for Halo Custom Edition, Halo 2 Vista, Portal and Halo Machinima

Home  Search Register  Login Member ListRecent Posts

»Forums Index »Halo Custom Edition (Bungie/Gearbox) »Halo CE General Discussion »Desperately seeking help/advice

Author Topic: Desperately seeking help/advice (29 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: Dennis

squeeze_nut

Posted: Apr 5, 2016 05:39 PM    Msg. 1 of 29       
Hi, I'm squeezenut. I'm new to Halo CE Modding. I was messing around with recording anims, and nothing was working. I copied the contents of my HaloCE folder out, and uninstalled the game. I figured I'd do a fresh install to see if it worked on a new copy, and it didn't. After that, I moved the CE folder back to it's original spot and ran the game. All of the scenarios I turned into levels were gone, and when I run tool (os) trying to compile a scenario to a map, it succeeds, but none of the compiled maps can be ran with "map_name (mapname)".

No matter what I try, nothing seems to work in terms of being able to compile maps.

I can post screenshots or whatever, I just want some help/advice to see where I should go from here.

EDIT:

Out of nowhere I tried again, and I got an error in tool this time. -> https://i.gyazo.com/76aab38e4d565557d228b35f6a029ee2.png

Edited by squeeze_nut on Apr 5, 2016 at 09:41 PM

R93_Sniper

When in Doubt, RUN!

Posted: Apr 5, 2016 08:18 PM    Msg. 2 of 29       
if your maps are compiled and you can see them in your maps folder, then you should be able to run them fine. However, the map_name command only works for singleplayer maps, else you would try to load the maps through your multiplayer menu

squeeze_nut

Posted: Apr 5, 2016 09:00 PM    Msg. 3 of 29       
Sorry, I think I worded what I was trying to say wrong. I can't see the maps in the maps folder, but when I run the command through the cmd, there is no error.

Maniac1000
-Helpful Poster-

Posted: Apr 6, 2016 12:02 AM    Msg. 4 of 29