A Community discussion forum for Halo Custom Edition, Halo 2 Vista, Portal and Halo Machinima

Home  Search Register  Login Member ListRecent Posts

»Forums Index »Halo Custom Edition (Bungie/Gearbox) »Halo CE Technical / Map Design »How to properly add new weapons to campaign maps.

Author Topic: How to properly add new weapons to campaign maps. (4 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: Dennis

BioGoji1989

Posted: Jan 17, 2018 05:18 PM    Msg. 1 of 4       
I am just starting out with modding. I've only recently figured out, thanks to MosesofEgypt helping me, how to properly compile a .map file in tool. Currently, I've slowly been learning how to edit various tag properties that already exist within the game, but when I try to add anything new from another tagset, it doesn't work. The only thing that I can import and have compiled properly is the plasma rifle jackal tag set from Virus =X=, but that's it. I'd like to know what I'm doing wrong.

I copy and paste the new weapon tags into the weapons folder, and I go into Mozarilla to make sure that they show up in the weapons palette in the .scenario file. What step am I missing, because the map won't compile.

Does anyone have any advice?

DeadHamster

Posted: Jan 17, 2018 06:31 PM    Msg. 2 of 4       
Quote: --- Original message by: BioGoji1989
I copy and paste the new weapon tags into the weapons folder

NO!

Open a map in HEK+ or Refinery. See how everything is organized by folder, or a hierarchy? See how it goes weapons/assault rifle/assault rifle?

See how that matches your tags folder exactly?

Every tag contains references to another tag. The data used to "reference" it is the filepath relative to the tags folder.

So, if your AR is in Halo Custom Edition\tags\weapons\assault rifle\assault rifle.weapon

The relative tagpath is weapons\assault rifle\assault rifle.weapon